Regions in Egypt

Egypt is made up of 27 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Egypt. Information on all primary administrative regions in Egypt.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Egypt alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Egypt

There are 27 regions in Egypt in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Egypt
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Faiyum Muḩāfaz̧at al Fayyūm1.3,848,708Al Fayyum Al Fayyūm519,047
New Valley New Valley2.245,000Al Kharjah Al Khārjah67,700
Dakahlia Muḩāfaz̧at ad Daqahlīyah3.6,577,000Al Mansurah Al Manşūrah621,953
Minya Muḩāfaz̧at al Minyā4.5,807,000Al Minya Al Minyā283,605
Alexandria Alexandria5.5,226,000Alexandria Alexandria5,263,542
North Sinai North Sinai6.457,000Arish Arish199,243
Aswan Muḩāfaz̧at Aswān7.1,501,000Aswan Aswan379,774
Asyut Muḩāfaz̧at Asyūţ8.4,472,000Asyut Asyūţ528,669
Qalyubia Muḩāfaz̧at al Qalyūbīyah9.5,703,000Banha Banhā182,254
Beni Suweif Muḩāfaz̧at Banī Suwayf10.3,214,000Bani Suwayf Banī Suwayf273,151
Cairo Cairo Governorate11.9,655,000Cairo Cairo9,606,916
Beheira Beheira Governorate12.6,277,000Damanhur Damanhūr318,207
Damietta Damietta Governorate13.1,516,000Damietta Damietta305,920
South Sinai South Sinai Governorate14.104,000El-Tor El-Tor14,972
Giza Muḩāfaz̧at al Jīzah15.9,200,000Giza Giza4,367,343
Red Sea Red Sea Governorate16.366,000Hurghada Hurghada207,132
Ismailia Ismailia Governorate17.1,325,000Ismailia Ismailia429,465
Kafr el-Sheikh Kafr ash Shaykh18.3,414,000Kafr ash Shaykh Kafr ash Shaykh194,569
Luxor Luxor19.1,270,000Luxor Luxor422,407
Matruh Muḩāfaz̧at Maţrūḩ20.441,000Mersa Matruh Mersa Matruh176,498
Port Said Port Said21.764,499Port Said Port Said780,515
Qena Muḩāfaz̧at Qinā22.3,224,000Qina Qinā252,883
Monufia Muḩāfaz̧at al Minūfīyah23.4,366,000Shibin al Kawm Shibīn al Kawm267,945
Sohag Muḩāfaz̧at Sūhāj24.5,063,000Sohag Sohag266,944
Suez As Suways25.738,000Suez Suez699,541
Gharbia Muḩāfaz̧at al Gharbīyah26.5,066,000Tanta Ţanţā576,648
Sharqia Muḩāfaz̧at ash Sharqīyah27.8,017,894Zagazig Zagazig430,445