This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Egypt

Egypt is made up of 27 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Egypt. Information on all primary administrative regions in Egypt.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Egypt alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Egypt

There are 27 regions in Egypt in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Egypt
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Muhafazat al Qahirah Cairo Governorate1.7,734,614Cairo Cairo7,734,614
Alexandria Muḩāfaz̧at al Iskandarīyah2.3,811,516Alexandria Alexandria3,811,516
Al Jizah Muḩāfaz̧at al Jīzah3.3,326,444Al Jizah Al Jīzah2,443,203
Muhafazat Bur Sa`id Muḩāfaz̧at Būr Sa‘īd4.538,378Port Said Port Said538,378
As Suways As Suways5.488,125Suez Suez488,125
Luxor Muḩāfaz̧at al Uqşur6.1,119,222Luxor Luxor422,407
Asyut Muḩāfaz̧at Asyūţ7.4,123,441Asyut Asyūţ420,585
Muhafazat ad Daqahliyah Muḩāfaz̧at ad Daqahlīyah8.5,818,363Al Mansurah Al Manşūrah420,195
Muhafazat al Gharbiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Gharbīyah9.3,920,800Tanda Tanda404,901
Muhafazat al Fayyum Muḩāfaz̧at al Fayyūm10.3,072,181Al Fayyum Al Fayyūm306,393
Eastern Province Muḩāfaz̧at ash Sharqīyah11.5,109,642Zagazig Zagazig285,097
Al Isma'iliyah Ismailia Governorate12.863,315Ismailia Ismailia284,813
Aswan Muḩāfaz̧at Aswān13.1,394,687Aswan Aswan241,261
Qina Muḩāfaz̧at Qinā14.2,959,175Qina Qinā235,362
Al Buhayrah Beheira Governorate15.4,689,632Damanhur Damanhūr227,943
Al Minya Muḩāfaz̧at al Minyā16.5,004,421Al Minya Al Minyā227,150
Suhaj Muḩāfaz̧at Sūhāj17.4,469,151Sohag Sohag209,419
Muhafazat Bani Suwayf Muḩāfaz̧at Banī Suwayf18.2,771,138Bani Suwayf Banī Suwayf189,624
Muhafazat al Minufiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Minūfīyah19.3,228,928Shibin al Kawm Shibīn al Kawm186,345
Muhafazat al Qalyubiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Qalyūbīyah20.3,881,462Banha Banhā167,029
Kafr ash Shaykh Kafr ash Shaykh21.3,093,754Kafr ash Shaykh Kafr ash Shaykh143,970
Muhafazat Shamal Sina' Muḩāfaz̧at Shamāl Sīnā’22.314,258Arish Arish128,855
Red Sea Red Sea Governorate23.288,233Hurghada Hurghada95,622
Dumyat Muḩāfaz̧at Dumyāţ24.1,076,132Damietta Damietta76,839
Muhafazat al Wadi al Jadid Muḩāfaz̧at al Wādī al Jadīd25.169,598Al Kharijah Al Khārijah67,700
Muhafazat Matruh Muḩāfaz̧at Maţrūḩ26.427,573Mersa Matruh Mersa Matruh62,042
South Sinai South Sinai Governorate27.164,574El-Tor El-Tor14,972