This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Egypt

Egypt is made up of 27 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Egypt. Information on all primary administrative regions in Egypt.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Egypt alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Egypt

There are 27 regions in Egypt in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Egypt
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Al Buhayrah Beheira Governorate1.4,689,632Damanhur Damanhūr227,943
Al Isma'iliyah Ismailia Governorate2.863,315Ismailia Ismailia284,813
Al Jizah Muḩāfaz̧at al Jīzah3.3,326,444Al Jizah Al Jīzah2,443,203
Al Minya Muḩāfaz̧at al Minyā4.5,004,421Al Minya Al Minyā227,150
Alexandria Muḩāfaz̧at al Iskandarīyah5.3,811,516Alexandria Alexandria3,811,516
As Suways As Suways6.488,125Suez Suez488,125
Aswan Muḩāfaz̧at Aswān7.1,394,687Aswan Aswan241,261
Asyut Muḩāfaz̧at Asyūţ8.4,123,441Asyut Asyūţ420,585
Dumyat Muḩāfaz̧at Dumyāţ9.1,076,132Damietta Damietta76,839
Eastern Province Muḩāfaz̧at ash Sharqīyah10.5,109,642Zagazig Zagazig285,097
Kafr ash Shaykh Kafr ash Shaykh11.3,093,754Kafr ash Shaykh Kafr ash Shaykh143,970
Luxor Muḩāfaz̧at al Uqşur12.1,119,222Luxor Luxor422,407
Muhafazat ad Daqahliyah Muḩāfaz̧at ad Daqahlīyah13.5,818,363Al Mansurah Al Manşūrah420,195
Muhafazat al Fayyum Muḩāfaz̧at al Fayyūm14.3,072,181Al Fayyum Al Fayyūm306,393
Muhafazat al Gharbiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Gharbīyah15.3,920,800Tanda Tanda404,901
Muhafazat al Minufiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Minūfīyah16.3,228,928Shibin al Kawm Shibīn al Kawm186,345
Muhafazat al Qahirah Cairo Governorate17.7,734,614Cairo Cairo7,734,614
Muhafazat al Qalyubiyah Muḩāfaz̧at al Qalyūbīyah18.3,881,462Banha Banhā167,029
Muhafazat al Wadi al Jadid Muḩāfaz̧at al Wādī al Jadīd19.169,598Al Kharijah Al Khārijah67,700
Muhafazat Bani Suwayf Muḩāfaz̧at Banī Suwayf20.2,771,138Bani Suwayf Banī Suwayf189,624
Muhafazat Bur Sa`id Muḩāfaz̧at Būr Sa‘īd21.538,378Port Said Port Said538,378
Muhafazat Matruh Muḩāfaz̧at Maţrūḩ22.427,573Mersa Matruh Mersa Matruh62,042
Muhafazat Shamal Sina' Muḩāfaz̧at Shamāl Sīnā’23.314,258Arish Arish128,855
Qina Muḩāfaz̧at Qinā24.2,959,175Qina Qinā235,362
Red Sea Red Sea Governorate25.288,233Hurghada Hurghada95,622
South Sinai South Sinai Governorate26.164,574El-Tor El-Tor14,972
Suhaj Muḩāfaz̧at Sūhāj27.4,469,151Sohag Sohag209,419